2013 Domaine Guy Roulot Meursault

Inventory Available
1
Domaine Guy Roulot
2013
Meursault
Villages White barrel
Score: 87-90
Tasted: Jun 15, 2015
Drink: 2019+
Issue: 59

Note: from Clos de la Baronne, Les Crotots and Les Gruyaches
Producer note: Jean-Marc Roulot described the 2013 vintage as "one that was difficult but I wouldn't necessarily call it worse than the 2012 campaign. The vines suffered through a poor flowering due to the high level of shatter which means we were off about 40% in terms of yields versus fully 60% in 2012. The harvest was definitely on the late side and we ultimately began picking on the 26th of September and continued through to the 4th of October. We were extremely lucky to have finished on the 4th as there was pounding rain on the 5th and 6th and not surprisingly, the quality of the unpicked fruit plummeted rapidly. Once we had the fruit pressed there really wasn't anything special about the fermentations as we used our normal approach. The malos were relatively early, in fact surprisingly so given the firm level of malic acidity. Post-malo pHs ranged between 3.1 and 3.15 which means that there's plenty of vibrancy to the wines. Speaking of which, I love the style of the 2013s as they're super fresh and vibrant plus the transparency to the underlying terroir. Despite the moderately low pHs the wines should be approachable young while retaining good development potential." Roulot noted that the 2012s revisited in bottle below were bottled in February 2014. (Kermit Lynch Wine Merchant, www.kermitlynch.com, Berkeley, CA, Michael Skurnik Wines, www.skurnikwines.com, Syosset, NY and Margate Wine & Spirit Co., www.margatewine.com, Atlantic City, NJ; Domaine Direct, www.domainedirect.co.uk, John Armit Wines, www.armit.co.uk, H & H Bancroft Wines, www.bancroftwines.com, Howard Ripley, www.howardripley.com, La Réserve and Berkmann Wine Cellars, Latimer Vintners, www.latimervintners.com and www.berkmann.co.uk, all UK).
Tasting note: A firmly reduced nose renders it impossible to evaluate. As one might reasonably expect there is more volume to the delicious, round and vibrant middle weight flavors that possess fine detail on the clean, dry and saliva-inducing finale.