2012 DOMAINE DES COMTES LAFON Meursault Clos De La Barre

Inventory Available
1
Domaine des Comtes Lafon
2012
Meursault "Clos de la Barre"
Villages White barrel
Score: 87-90
Tasted: Jun 15, 2014
Drink: 2017+
Issue: 55

Producer note: Dominique Lafon, whose domaine now farms 17 ha with the recent additions from the Domaine René Manuel lease (acquired with Domaine Roulot), described 2012 as "one of the worst growing seasons that I have ever seen. Basically everything that could go wrong went wrong. We had a lousy flowering that was followed by three hail storms, mildew, oidium and fried fruit. To give you an idea of the complicated nature of things, we normally do 7 treatments in an average season. Well, in 2012 we did 15. Moreover out of the 21 ha that I farm I didn't have one parcel that was spared by the hail. At least there was no botrytis which made sorting what fruit was left by the time the harvest arrived relatively easy as it was surprisingly clean. But wow was it a small crop in both red and white as in red we realized only 8 to 15 hl/ha and around 22 hl/ha in white. As to the wines, the 2012s are not the most elegant wines that I have ever made but they could well be the most concentrated." Lafon noted that he bottled his 2011 whites between March and June 2013. (Beaune Imports, www.beauneimports.com, Berkeley, CA, Classic Wine Imports, www.classicwineimports.com, Boston, MA, Fine Vines, www.finevines.com, Chicago, IL, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, Miramar, FL, Terra Nova Wines, www.terranovawines.com, Denver, CO, Little Guy Wine, www.littleguywine.com, Dearborn, MI, C'est Vin, LLC, 703/243-3559, Arlington, VA, Wines Unlimited, www.winesunlimited.com, New Orleans, LA, Michael Skurnik Wines, www.skurnikwines.com, Syosset, NY, Classified Wine & Spirits, LLC, www.classifiedwine.net, Austin, TX , Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, NZ/AZ/NM; Becky Wasserman & Co., www.leserbet.com, Beaune, France; Fields, Morris & Verdin, www.fmvwines.com, John Armit Wines, www.armit.co.uk, Adnams, www.adnams.co.uk, Domaine Direct, www.domainedirect.co.uk, Jeroboam Wines, www.jeroboamwines.com, Farr Vintners, www.farrvintners.com, Justerini & Brooks, www.justerinis.com, Lay & Wheeler, www.laywheeler.com, Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com and Tanners Wine, www.tanners-wines.co.uk, all UK; Sequin & Robillard/Vinifera, www.seguinrobillard.ca, Canada, and Metro Vino, metrovino.com, Alberta, Canada).
Tasting note: Reduction flattens the nose though there is good freshness and obvious ripeness to the succulent, round and concentrated medium-bodied flavors that possess an almost juicy mouth feel before terminating in an easy-to-like finish. This fuller-bodied effort is certainly delicious but it appears to lack the same vibrancy as the better wines in the range though it is by no means heavy.