2018 Domaine De Montille Vosne Romanee 1er Cru Les Malconsorts

2018 Domaine De Montille Vosne Romanee 1er Cru Les Malconsorts

3 in stock

$722.00

3 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine de Montille
2018
Vosne-Romanée “Aux Malconsorts”  
1er Cru Red barrel
Score: 92-94
Tasted: Apr 10, 2020
Drink: 2033+
Issue: 78
Outstanding
Note: 66% whole clusters
Producer note: Readers should be aware that as of 2017 the wines that used to be bottled under the Château de Puligny-Montrachet label have now been folded into Domaine de Montille, and this includes both reds and whites. As to the 2018 vintage, Etienne de Montille told me that “it was easy and difficult at the same time. What I mean is that it was easy in the sense that the fruit was ripe and clean. But it was seriously difficult to choose the right moment to harvest each parcel because despite the fact that we had a fast and even flowering, the maturities from one parcel to another could vary wildly. This was probably due to the fact that some communes had more rain than others and thus less hydric stress. For example, Pommard and Volnay were blessed in this regard whereas certain other communes where we have vines did not and thus those vines sometimes shut down, which obviously delayed maturities. Also, some parcels had excellent sugar ripeness levels but not necessarily fully ripe phenolics. So, getting all of that exactly right was honestly a tough nut to crack. Ultimately, we chose to begin picking in our parcel of Les Brouillards on the 25th of August and then continued through to the 8th of September. The fruit was extremely clean and quite ripe so absolutely nothing was chaptalized or acidified in either color. Potential alcohols were not particularly high, and we had only two reds over 13%. We used varying amounts of whole clusters but in general most wines saw at least 25% and some were 100%. The extractions essentially happened by themselves and the main trick was to avoid too much extraction even when you weren’t directly manipulating the solids. As to the wines, I’m very happy with the results and they have everything that they need to age successfully for as long as most people will want to.” Note that the following wines will be bottled under the Diam brand composite cork. See also the négociant whites made under the Maison de Montille label (which, in another change, replaces the Maison DEux Montille label), immediately below. (Beaune Imports, www.beauneimports.com, CA, Martin Scott Wines, www.martinscottwines.com, NY, Tenzing Wine & Spirits, www.tenzingws.com, IL, Vineyard Brands, www.vineyardbrands.com, AL, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, FL, Pioneer Wine Company, www.pioneerwine.com, TX, JW Sieg Wines, www.jwsiegwines.com, VA/DC, Avant Partir, www.avantpartir.com, GA, Vanguard Wines, www.vanguardwines.com, OH, Synergy Wines, www.synergyfinewines.com, CO/NM/AZ, Lirette Selections, www.liretteselections.com, LA and Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, NV/AZ/NM, all USA; Lay & Wheeler, www.laywheeler.com, John Armit Wines, www.armit.co.uk, Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com, O.W. Loeb, www.owloeb.com, The Wine Society, www.thewinesociety.com, all UK; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com/hk and Altaya Wines, www.altayawines.com, both Hong Kong, Pearl of Burgundy, www.pearlofburgundy.com, Hong Kong and Macau).
Tasting note: A wonderfully pure nose is composed by the essence of red cherry liqueur, spicy Asian-style tea, sandalwood and lovely floral scents. There is excellent underlying tension to the mineral-driven, precise and tautly muscular if only moderately concentrated flavors that terminate in a mildly austere, serious and firm finish. Patience strongly advised.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.