2017 COMTE ARMAND Les Fremiets Volnay 1er Cru

2017 COMTE ARMAND Les Fremiets Volnay 1er Cru

1 in stock

$222.00

1 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine Comte Armand/Clos des Epeneaux
2017
Volnay “Frémiets”
1er Cru Red barrel
Score: 89-91
Tasted: Apr 10, 2019
Drink: 2027+
Issue: 74
Note: from yields of <45 hl/ha
Producer note: Régisseur Paul Zinetti commented that the 2017 vintage “turned out to be a pleasant surprise though it was far from a sure thing at the beginning as we narrowly averted another catastrophe like we suffered in 2016 due to another April frost threat. After that bit of excitement though, the growing season was really pretty tranquil. We chose to begin picking on the 3rd of September and brought in clean and ripe fruit that required very little sorting. Yields were generous without being excessive while potential alcohols were really quite good at between 13.3 and 13.8% with good but not high acidities. I used no whole cluster in the vinifications which were straightforward though I was frankly skeptical about the quality of the wines as they seemed a bit light and without real interest yet as soon as the malos completely it’s like they completely transformed to become much, much more nuanced. While they’re not monsters of concentration, to my sensibilities they’re entirely classic in style and should have no trouble aging well.” Zinetti noted that he will probably bottle the upper level wines a little earlier than usual though with no fining or filtration. I found the quality of the Armand 2017s to be good to very good but perhaps not as exceptional as they often are. (Becky Wasserman & Co., www.beckywasserman.com, Beaune, France; Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, CA/NV/AZ/NM, Martin Scott Wines, www.martinscottwines.com, NY, Classified Wine & Spirits, LLC, www.classifiedwine.net, TX, C’est Vin, LLC, 703.243.3559, VA, Wines Unlimited, www.winesunlimited.com, LA, Little Guy Wine, www.littleguywine.com, MI, Fine Vines, www.finevines.com, IL, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, FL, M.S. Walker, www.mswalker.com, MA/RI/NH and Small Potatoes Wine, www.smallpotatoeswine.com, ID, all USA; Howard Ripley, www.howardripley.com, Thorman Hunt & Co., www.thormanhunt.co.uk, Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com, Fields, Morris & Verdin, www.fmvwines.com, Goedhuis & Co., www.goedhuis.com, Lay & Wheeler, www.laywheeler.com, Lea & Sandeman, www.leaandsandeman.co.uk, and The Wine Society, www.thewinesociety.com, all UK; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com/hk, Hong Kong; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.co.jp, Japan).
Tasting note: This is also deftly wooded with an appealingly fresh nose that consists mostly of various red berry elements along with a pretty spice whiff. The lighter weight (though not dilute) flavors possess a lilting mouth feel while delivering sneaky good length on the firm, youthfully austere and balanced finish. This is lighter than it usually is but the balance saves the overall sense of quality.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.