2014 Domaine JF Mugnier Nuits St George 1er Cru Clos De La Marechale Red

2014 Domaine JF Mugnier Nuits St George 1er Cru Clos De La Marechale Red

1 in stock

$188.00

1 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine Jacques-Frédéric Mugnier
2014
Nuits St. Georges “Clos de la Maréchale”
1er Cru Red barrel
Score: 90-92
Tasted: Jan 15, 2016
Drink: 2024+
Issue: 61

 

Producer note: Frédéric Mugnier described 2014 as one that had a “growing season that was neither too warm nor too cold though it was a bit too rainy during the summer that engendered the threat of rot so it was necessary to be vigilant. There was also some ascetic acid problem but I don’t really believe that it was the fault of the Suzukii but whether it was or wasn’t, I confess to having been very worried. We chose to begin picking on the 15th of September and brought in super clean fruit that required almost no sorting. Potential alcohols were good if not genuinely high as they averaged right around 12.5%. Yields were the best since 2009 at between 34 and 35 hl/ha. As to the wines I very much like them as they’re fresh and balanced and should drink reasonably well young but age well too. They are perhaps not as concentrated as their 2013 counterparts but they’re less austere.” Mugnier noted that there would be no second wine from the Clos de la Maréchale and further that his 2013s, revisited below, were bottled between February and June 2015. (Becky Wasserman & Co., www.leserbet.com, Beaune, France; Martin Scott Wines, www.martinscottwines.com, (NJ, CT, NY) Lake Success, NY, Fine Vines, www.finevines.com, Chicago, IL, Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, CA/NV/AZ/NM, Classified Wine & Spirits, LLC, www.classifiedwine.net, Austin, TX, C’est Vin, LLC, 703/243-3559, (DC/VA) Arlington, VA, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, Miramar, FL, Atlanta Wholesale Wines, www.ndcweb.com, Atlanta, GA, Wines Unlimited, www.winesunlimited.com, New Orleans, LA, Vineyard Road, www.vineyardroad.net, Framingham, MA, Little Guy Wine, www.littleguywine.com, Dearborn, MI, Terra Nova Wines, www.terranovawines.com, Denver, CO, Small Potatoes Wine, www.smallpotatoeswine.com, Boise ID; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com, Howard Ripley, www.howardripley.com, Haynes, Hanson & Clark, www.hhandc.co.uk, O.W. Loeb, www.owloeb.com, Justerini & Brooks, www.justerinis.com, all UK).
Tasting note: A perfumed and once again cool and airy nose displays notes of red currant, cherry and warm earth. There is excellent intensity to the energetic middle weight flavors that possess good precision on the firm and dusty but not really rustic finish that delivers excellent persistence. This balanced effort is a bit more structured than it typically is and will definitely require a few years before it will be approachable.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.