2016 Domaine JF Mugnier Nuits St George 1er Cru Clos De La Marechale Red

2016 Domaine JF Mugnier Nuits St George 1er Cru Clos De La Marechale Red

3 in stock

$242.00

3 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine Jacques-Frédéric Mugnier
2016
Nuits St. Georges “Clos de la Maréchale”  
1er Cru Red 750 ml
Score: 92
Tasted: Jan 10, 2019
Drink: 2026+
Issue: 73
Outstanding
Producer note: Frédéric Mugnier concisely described 2017 as one that “had a relatively easy growing season though anything would have seemed easy after 2016. We picked from the 5th of September, which was exactly 100 days after the mid-point of the flowering for our vines. We brought in yields that were between 35 to 40 hl/ha depending on the wines in question. That’s a bit higher than what I aim for at 35 hl/ha but we rarely hit that for one reason or another. The 2017s are elegant and classically styled wines that should drink well young but because they’re so well-balanced, there’s no reason that they shouldn’t age well too.” As I was last year, I remain very enthusiastic about the quality of the Mugnier 2016s, revisited below, as they are excellent; they were bottled in June 2018. (Becky Wasserman & Co., www.beckywasserman.com, Beaune, France; Martin Scott Wines, www.martinscottwines.com, NY, Terroir Imports, www.terroirimports.net, CO, Fine Vines, www.finevines.com, IL, Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, CA/NV/AZ/NM, Classified Wine & Spirits, LLC, www.classifiedwine.net, TX, C’est Vin, LLC, 703.243.3559, VA, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, FL, Atlanta Wholesale Wines, www.ndcweb.com, GA, Wines Unlimited, www.winesunlimited.com, LA, Vineyard Road, www.vineyardroad.net, MA, Little Guy Wine, www.littleguywine.com, MI, Small Potatoes Wine, www.smallpotatoeswine.com, ID, all USA; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com, Fields, Morris & Verdin, www.fmvwines.com, Howard Ripley, www.howardripley.com, Haynes, Hanson & Clark, www.hhandc.co.uk, O.W. Loeb, www.owloeb.com and Justerini & Brooks, www.justerinis.com, all UK; Altaya Wines, www.altayawines.com, Hong Kong).
Tasting note: This is appealingly super-fresh with its cool array of red currant, plum, earth and soft wisps of violet and lavender. The supple, round and utterly delicious medium-bodied flavors possess a really lovely mouthfeel thanks to the relatively fine-grained tannins that also shape the punchy, dusty and serious finale. I like the sense of harmony and this notably complex effort should be easily capable of rewarding 10 to 12 years of cellaring and holding for much longer.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.