2016 Domaine Hubert De Montille Beaune 1er Cru Les Greves

2016 Domaine Hubert De Montille Beaune 1er Cru Les Greves

2 in stock

$179.50

2 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine Hubert de Montille
2016
Beaune “Grèves”
1er Cru Red barrel
Score: 88-91
Tasted: Apr 15, 2018
Drink: 2026+
Issue: 70

 

Note: 33% whole clusters
Producer note: Etienne de Montille was not available at the time of my visit and thus I do not have his views on the 2016 vintage. I was however able to taste through the entire range of wines that include the Château de Puligny-Montrachet (see below) and the négociant whites made under the Deux Montille label, the reviews for which will appear in Issue 71. The quality here was very good in 2016 though generally better from the Côte de Nuits. With the exception of the Bourgogne, all the wines were vinified with relatively high percentages of whole clusters that ranged from one-third to 100%. I indicate the percentage for each wine in parentheses. In another change the Rugiens has been rebaptized as “Hubert” and, as was the case in 2015, it will probably be sold with the Malconsorts “Christiane” in a commemorative two-pack in honor of Etienne’s parents. (Beaune Imports, www.beauneimports.com, CA, Martin Scott Wines, www.martinscottwines.com, NY, Tenzing Wine & Spirits, www.tenzingws.com, IL, Vineyard Brands, www.vineyardbrands.com, AL, Augustan Wine, www.augustanwine.com, FL, Pioneer Wine Company, www.pioneerwine.com, TX, JW Sieg Wines, www.jwsiegwines.com, VA/DC, Avant Partir, www.avantpartir.com, GA, Vanguard Wines, www.vanguardwines.com, OH, Synergy Wines, www.synergyfinewines.com, CO/NM/AZ, Lirette Selections, www.liretteselections.com, LA and Veritas Imports, www.veritaswine.com, NV/AZ/NM, all USA; Lay & Wheeler, www.laywheeler.com, John Armit Wines, www.armit.co.uk, Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com, O.W. Loeb, www.owloeb.com, The Wine Society, www.thewinesociety.com, all UK; Berry Brothers & Rudd, www.bbr.com/hk, Hong Kong).
Tasting note: A more deeply pitched and much earthier nose is comprised by notes of plum, violet and a whiff of game. There is fine volume and punch to the more powerful medium-bodied flavors that possess better depth and persistence though here too there is a trace of dryness though it is less evident.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.