2016 DOMAINE ARNOUX-LACHAUX Vosne Romanee 1er Cru Aux Reignots

2016 DOMAINE ARNOUX-LACHAUX Vosne Romanee 1er Cru Aux Reignots

1 in stock

$616.00

1 in stock 1.33 kg . .

Description

Domaine Arnoux-Lachaux
2016
Vosne-Romanée “Aux Reignots”  
1er Cru Red 750 ml
Score: 94
Tasted: Jan 10, 2019
Drink: 2034+
Issue: 73
Outstanding
Note: from a .29 ha parcel
Producer note: Charles Lachaux describes the 2017 vintage as one that “could easily have produced excessive yields but we took the necessary steps such that our yields remained normal. This is to say around 43 hl/ha for the Bourgogne, 36 for the villages wines, 32 for the 1ers and between 18 and 28 for the grands crus. I chose to begin picking on the 2nd of September and brought in markedly clean fruit that required almost no sorting. Potential alcohols were quite good at around 13% and phenolic maturities were also very good. As was the case in 2015 and 2016, I used a minimum of 50% whole clusters for all wines and many were at 100% while the total cuvaison varied between 10 and 13 days. I also once again lowered the amount of new wood and the maximum for the grands crus is now 30%. As to the wines, I love the style of the 2017s as they’re pure and energetic and should drink well young and certainly before their counterparts in 2015 and 2016.” The 2016s, five of which are revisited below, were bottled between March and April 2018. (Purveyor of Fine Wines, www.winepurveyors.com, LA, William Gladstone Imports, www.williamgladstoneimports.com, NY, David Bowler Wine, www.bowlerwine.com, NY, Favorite Brands, LLC., www.favoritebrands.org, TX and P. Comms Intn’l., www.pcommswines.com, NC, all USA; Diva Beaune S.A.S., www.divawine.com, France; John Armit Wines, www.armit.co.uk, Private Cellar Ltd., www.privatecellar.co.uk, Laytons, www.laytons.co.uk, Clarion Wines, www.clarionwines.co.uk and Bibendum Wine Ltd., www.bibendum-wine.co.uk, all UK; Altaya Wines, www.altayawines.com, Hong Kong).
Tasting note: An airy, cool and restrained nose is impressively broad with its gorgeous aromas of red currant, violet, rose petal and ample spice nuances. The lacy, sophisticated and energetic middle weight flavors also display plenty of minerality on the detailed, intense and driving finish. The impression of class and refinement is notably enhanced by the very fine grain of the tannins and this should age well for a long time yet it is not so firmly structured that it could not be enjoyed relatively young. A real beauty and very Reignots in character.

Login Account

Invaild email address.

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Your information will nerver be shared with any third party.